Record Crowd in Attendance for NJAA’s Eighth Annual PAC Reception

On Tuesday, October 4th, the New Jersey Apartment Association (NJAA) hosted its Eighth Annual NJAA PAC Reception and welcomed two Special Guests, former Governors James Florio and Donald DiFrancesco, for an in-depth discussion on New Jersey politics and the  multi-family rental housing industry.  

Jim Hooker, veteran State House commentator and former NJN News anchor, moderated the program, opening the discussion with the day’s biggest news topic, Governor Chris Christie’s announcement that he would not run for president. Governors Florio and DiFrancesco agreed that it was a wise political decision to decline to enter the race this late.  Other topics included effects of the ARC Tunnel cancellation and whether the recent State Legislative Redistricting process provided an advantage to Republicans or Democrats for next month’s General Election.  The former Governors agreed on most matters, diverging only on the impact of Christie Administration debt reduction, with Governor DiFrancesco applauding the $3 billion in recent savings and Governor Florio concerned that there was still a $125 billion problem to solve, albeit over 40 years. 

“NJAA is the recognized voice of multi-family rental housing and our active presence at the State House helps to ensure that the interests of professional rental housing providers – and our residents – are always represented,” commented Jean Maddalon, Executive Director of the New Jersey Apartment Association. “It is our mission to increase NJAA’s role as the advocate for multi-family owners, managers, builders and developers  and to educate opinion leaders and policy makers on the issues affecting viability, affordability and sustainability of rental  housing in our state.” 

NJAA’s Host Committee for this year’s PAC Reception includes Michael Barry – Applied Property Company, William Dailey – CIS Management Inc., Jonathan Gershen – The Gershen Group, LLC, Michael Goldberg – Goldberg Realty Associates, Michael Haydinger – First Montgomery Group, Tom Kretsch – Segal & Segal, Jeff Kurtz – The Kamson Corporation, David Legow – Legow Management Company, and Jeff Smith – Kriegman & Smith, Inc.