President-Elect, Officers and Board Installed at NJAA Annual Meeting

On Wednesday, January 19, the New Jersey Apartment Association (NJAA) kicked off its 25th Anniversary year with special guest Department of Community Affairs Commissioner Lori Grifa at the Annual Membership Meeting at The Palace at Somerset Park. The Commissioner greeted guests at the New Members Reception and addressed the NJAA membership during the Annual Meeting. Commissioner Grifa also delivered a letter from Governor Chris Christie marking NJAA’s 25th anniversary.

“We experienced significant achievements for the Association in 2010. As the size of the Association continues to grow, its voice is resonating in Trenton and throughout the state. 2011 marks the 25th Anniversary of the Association and we look forward to serving the multi-family industry for the next 25 years and beyond” said NJAA Executive Director, Jean Maddalon.

2010 achievements included testimony before the Lieutenant Governor’s Red Tape Review Group (now a commission), which resulted in recommendations from the Red Tape Group for changes to modernize and streamline the regulatory environment governing the professional multi-family industry; growth in membership numbers, and increased educational opportunities for members.

2011 marks Jeff Smith’s second year as NJAA President. In addressing guests, Smith reported that one hundred new members joined NJAA over the last year, and that the Association now represents 170,000 rental homes throughout the state. Smith also noted the grim state the industry was in when he took helm as President one year ago, and while not out of the woods yet, the industry is beginning the year on a stronger footing. He also promised a new website within the next couple of months, and continued advocacy and education.

As President Smith enters his second year, a new President-elect was announced at this year’s Annual Meeting. Brent Kohere from Home Properties currently serves as Regional Vice President, North Jersey, and will take over his new role in January 2012. The 2011 Officers, Board of Directors and Diamond Sponsors were also recognized at this event.

The 2011 NJAA Executive Board Officers and Board of Directors honored at the event include:

Executive Board Officers:
Jeffrey Smith, Kriegman & Smith, Inc. – President
Brent Kohere, Home Properties, - President-Elect and Regional VP North Michael C. Haydinger, First Montgomery Group, AMO® - VP Legislation
William Dailey, CPM, Community Investment Strategies, Inc. - Regional VP Central
Joseph Spadaccini, The Kamson Corporation - Regional VP South
Ray Fiorica, AFR Furniture Rental – VP Associate Affairs
Steve Waters, Morgan Properties - Secretary
Lynne Aber, Bertram Associates – Treasurer
Jean Maddalon, NJAA – Executive Director

2011 Board of Directors
Matthew Adler, Adler Development
Michael Barry, Applied Development Company
Michael J. Beirne, The Kamson Corporation
Andrew Cohen, Rock Properties
Brian Collins, Equity Residential Properties
Joseph E. Collins, CALECO
Vincent C. Comperatore, Comperatore Associates, Inc.
George D. Cowden, Multi-Housing Depot By ARI
John D. Cranmer, Esq., Archer & Greiner, P.C.
Dawn Curto, Roseland Property Company
Sue D’Angiolillo, Apartment Finder
William Diggs, Renaissance Equity, LLC
Larry Falkow, The Apts
Jonathan S. Gershen, Esq., The Gershen Group, LLC
Michael W. Goldberg, Goldberg Realty Associates
Dan Gordon, AVCO Supply, Inc.
Alan R. Hammer, Esq., Brach Eichler LLC
George Jacobs, JK Management, LLC
Paul J. Kaliades, Renters Legal Liability
Jason Kaplan, Kaplan Properties
Thomas Kretsch, Segal & Segal
Ronald S. Ladell, AvalonBay Communities, Inc.
Anthony E. Lauro, Affiliated Management
David L. Legow, Esq., Legow Management Company
Jack R. Linefsky, Value Companies
Jerome J. Lombardo, C.J. Lombardo Company
James M. McGrath, PRD Management
Michael O’Dea, Hekemian & Company, Inc.
Eileen Patterson,
Diana Penn, JMG Realty, Inc.
Marshall A. Rosen, Solomon Organization
David Siegel, Coinmach Corporation
John Zoetjes, American Architectural Window & Door